Category Archives: Auto Owners

Michigan strengthens Graduated Driver Licensing law

http://www.iihs.org/laws/graduatedLicenseIntro.aspx

State young driver licensing summary:

Michigan


Rating: GOOD
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of: 14, 9 months1
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of: 6 months
Have a minimum supervised driving time of: 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night
Have a minimum age of: 162
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions: 10 pm-5 am
Passenger restrictions:
(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
no more than 1 passenger younger than 21
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions: 17
Passenger restrictions: 17

1Permit applicants younger than 18 in Michigan must have completed the first segment of driver education. 

2License applicants younger than 18 must have completed the second segment of driver education. Neither driver education nor an intermediate license is required for license applicants 18 and older.